Public policy can be generally defined as a system of laws, regulatory measures, courses of action, and funding priorities concerning a given topic promulgated by a governmental entity or its representatives. policy on people, recognizing that technical expertise is meant to serve the interests of people, and policy decisions should be made after due deliberation, with ample opportunities afforded to ordinary people to shape those policy decisions.
It has been taken for granted for a long time, in many countries, that public policy is what the government does, and, by definition, all public policy must be in the public interest. But clearly not everything that public servants do is automatically in the public interest. One argument that is often made is that because elected leaders in democracies rely on experts to formulate and implement public policies, it is better to leave public policies to these experts in the first place, without interfering with them. Technocrats are credited with a ‘problem-solving’ mindset, and with the capacity to rise above the narrow interests of their particular occupation groups.
This resource guide, prepared by the library staff aims to list useful sources of information on the subject, that are available in JGU Library and elsewhere, both in print and electronic forms. It also includes important links to useful free & open access web resources.
To access Public policy, updated major reference collection, visit shelves (Central Block of the Global Library). Some reference collection on Public policy, as follow:
Reference works, secondary and tertiary sources are the starting point to begin your research. Some major reference works on Public policy are listed below. Links to the JGU library catalogue have been provided with the sources that are available in the library.
Strategies for effective Googling:Many fantastic public policy resources--in particular, policy briefs from think tanks, NGOs, and research institutes can be found online. Here are a few tips for more efficient, effective Google searches:
Include the phrase "policy brief" in your search. (Keep the quotation marks around "policy brief" to find this exact phrase.)
Use a site: search. This will limit your search to a broad domain (e.g., .org sites, .edu sites, .gov sites) or to a specific website (e.g.,http://www.urban.org).
If you're not sure which think tank, NGO, or agency might have issued policy papers on your topic, try a search engine that's powered by Google but limited to a select group of sites.
Think Tank Search(Harvard Kennedy School): A directory of U.S. and international think tanks, as well as a custom Google search of more than 250 think tank websites.
In addition of the above mentioned top ranked journals, click hereto access a number of databases subscribed by Global Library which consist numerous journals, research and working paper on Public policy throughEBSCO’s Business Source premier, JSTOR , SSRNetc.
Magazine & Newsletters:
Canadian Politics & Public Policy Magazine : This magazine stimulate research and discussion of public policy problems in Canada. It is directed at a wide readership including decision makers and advisers in business organizations and governments, and policy researchers in private institutions and universities.
Biocom public policy NewsletterThis newsletter give a quick snapshot of how we engage at all levels of the government, in both legislative and regulatory .
Rand Public Policy Newsletter :RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.
ABI Inform Complete: The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Large no. of full text articles is available on this subject.
Access from the advanced search option. Once there scroll down to the heading 'Document type' and tick the 'Case studies' box. Enter keywords and undertake your search as you usually would. Global Library have subscription of this database.
HeinOnline : This is an ever-expanding, comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals. This online database offers a number of search and browse features that make it a very useful tool for the legal researcher. Database with US government documents from all branches, law review articles, and primary source materials, focusing on comprehensive retrospective coverage unavailable elsewhere.
Audio Visual Lecture & Tutorials:
MITOPenCourseware : This link provide a very good collection of classroom video tutorial on Public Policy.
TEDx: It is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). It covers almost all topics — from science to Social science".
Academic Earth :It is a website launched by Richard Ludlow and co-founders Chris Bruner and Liam Pisano. Which offers free online video lectures from universities such as UC Berkeley, UCLA, University of Michigan, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford, and Yale.
E-Archives, Online Courses, Course Material:
Mitopencourseware : MIT Open Courseware (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world. The main focus of this courseware is unlocking Knowledge.
Making Public Policy: This course aims to get students thinking about politics and policy as a part of their everyday life. We treat politics as a struggle among competing advocates trying to persuade others to see the world as they do, working within a context that is structured primarily by institutions and cultural ideas.
Public Finance and Public Policy:This course explores the role of government in the economy, applying tools of basic microeconomics to answer important policy questions such as government response to global warming, school choice by K-12 students, Social Security versus private retirement savings accounts, government versus private health insurance, setting income tax rates for individuals and corporations
Institutional Information Portals, Gateways and Directories
Public Policy Organization
Annenberg Public Policy CenterAnnenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania has been the premier communication policy center in the USA since its founding in 1993. By conducting and releasing research, staging conferences and hosting policy discussions, its scholars have addressed the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, child development, health care, civics and mental health, among other important arenas.
Google Portal for Public Policy :Follow this portal for public policy related news and analytical article. It helps to interact with Google’s views on government, policy and politics.
Organization and World Forums
Public Policy Forum : This forum build bridges and transfer knowledge across sectors through constructive dialogue. It helps to address issues related to Public service and governance, Human capital and Economy and competitiveness.
Forum on Public PolicyItdisseminate knowledge with regard to salient issues in public affairs. This includes research and policy advancement in both the public and private sectors that address government issues at state, national and international levels of discourse.
Center for Public Policy Priorities : It is an independent public policy organization that uses data and analysis to advocate for solutions that enable Texans of all backgrounds to reach their full potential.
National Center for Policy Analysis: NCPA offers several formats to interact with other individuals. Join the conversation on health or economic policy, retirement and taxes, or energy and environment.
Public Agenda: This public opinion research and public engagement organizatirks to strengthen our democracy’s capacity to tackle tough public policy issues.
Open Forum: Open Forum is an independent collaborative think-tank in Australia built around an interactive discussion website hosted and moderated by Global Access Partners (GAP). It provides a platform for focused dialogue on social, political, economic, ecological and cultural issues and challenges.
Consumer Law & Policy Blog: The contributors to this blog are lawyers and law professors who practice, teach, or write about consumer law and policy.
Leviathan: This is a new public policy blog initiated by The Economist The public policy editor reports on how governments in Britain and beyond are rethinking and reforming the state’s role in public services.
: This is the American Astronomical Society’s Public Policy Blog, created so this organization could interact with its membership and the public.
Public KnowledgeThis -based public interest group works to defend your rights in the emerging digital culture.
Health Care Cost Monitor:The Health Care Cost Monitor provides commentary and opinion on cost control as part of the implementation of health care reform and in the broader context of assessing national priorities.
There are several free and for purchase apps, available for Android devices that can assist with Public policy policy information updates. Android Apps for Public Policy can be found in the following general sources:Public policy
AAFCS Public Policy Toolkit:In this toolkit, the AAFCS Public Policy Committee presents information and tools designed to empower effective action to support legislation and policies favorable to our concerns as family and consumer sciences professionals.
Public Policy: Public policy is the principled guide to action taken by the administrative executive branches of the state with regard to a class of issues in a manner consistent withlaw and institutional customs. The foundation of public policy is composed of nationalconstitutionallaws and regulations.
Center for Public Policy Priorities: IT is an independent public policy organization that uses data and analysis to advocate for solutions that enable Texans of all backgrounds to reach their full potential.
Public Policy Research Centre : It works in the area of public policy to explore constructive solutions on important policy issues through discussions, debates, seminars, study circles and brainstorming sessions. brainstorming sessionsbrainstorming sessions
Public Policy Professionals :3P is a network to connect all public policy professionals, public system administrators and people interested in public policy. It is a platform to communicate ones views on several public interest. It will be professional and content driven.
Center for Public Policy Priorities : It is an independent public policy organization that uses data and analysis to advocate for solutions that enable Texans of all backgrounds to reach their full potential. We dare Texas to be the best state for hard-working people and their families.
Google Public Policy : This twitter page provide a platform to discusses the use of the phrase 'public policy' in legal doctrine
Public Policy Forum : This twitter page raising the bar on public policy conversations for Canadians.
PublicPolicy|Soton : Connecting world leading researchers with policymakers to enrich evidence based policymaking.
Cam Public Policy : This twitter page is Cambridge University Public Policy Initiative. It connect the world leading researchers with policymakers.
Public Policy Analysis Course Cover:This course, we will be focusing on an introduction to the study of public policy and the professional practice of policy analysis. The definition and formulation of complex policy problems and the analysis of policy arguments will be covered as well. Throughout the course, you will reflect on and examine the essential components of public policy, as well as analytical approaches to public policy. This will help you to take the first step in understanding a policy analyst's position.
Excellence in Public Policy (LSE lecture series):For excellent public policy, it is necessary to have a clear idea of both the ends to be achieved (including equity, quality and efficiency), and the means for achieving those ends (including the structure of motivation and incentives, and the appropriate balance between market and state). Julian has made major contributions in all of these areas, and this Seminar is an opportunity for distinguished academics and commentators to reflect on his work while developing their own ideas.
Public Policy Research: Public Policy Research Funding Scheme was launched by the Government in 2005 through UGC to promote public policy research in higher education institutions. An amount of $20 million was allocated from the Central Policy Unit (CPU) to the RGC annually for administering the Public Policy Research (PPR) funding scheme.
Public Policy Research Funding Scheme & Strategic Public Policy Research Funding Scheme:Public Policy Research (PPR) Funding Scheme started in 2005 to promote public policy research. The Strategic Public Policy Research (SPPR) Funding Scheme was launched in 2008 to facilitate longer-term public policy research on specific areas. From 2013-14 onwards, the CPU has been administering the Scheme. The SPPR Funding Scheme has since been merged into the PPR Funding Scheme.
IGC research funding : Based at the London School of Economics and in partnership with the University of Oxford IGC aims to promote sustainable growth in developing countries by providing demand-led policy advice based on frontier research. Based at the London School of Economics and in partnership with the University of Oxford, the IGC directs a global network of world-leading researchers and in-country teams in Africa and Asia.
Domestic Public Policy Research Grants (Duke University) : The Domestic Public Policy Program supports projects that will help the public and policy makers understand and address critical challenges facing the United States. An overarching goal of the Foundation's grant making is to support projects that help stimulate and inform important public policy debates. To that end, the Foundation supports research on and evaluation of existing public policies and programs, as well as projects that inject new ideas into public debates.
PhD program funding : Fellowships from external sources often offer very generous multi-year packages of support. Applicants who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents may especially wish to investigate the following options:
Google Public Policy Fellowship: The Google Policy Fellowship program offers undergraduate, graduate, and law students interested in Internet and technology policy the opportunity to spend the summer contributing to the public dialogue on these issues, and exploring future academic and professional interests.
Staff of Global Library contribution of Mr. Buddhi Prakash Chauhan, Library Director for his leadership in preparation of this Resource Guide, and Dr. R Sudarshan, Dean Jindal School of Government and Public Policy (JSGP) for evaluating the draft and making valuable additions to the resource guide.
O. P. Jindal Global University
Near Jagdishpur Village
P.O. Box 131001
Tel: +91-130-409 1845 Fax: +91-130-409 1845 Directions