Free online bibliometrics tutorial with supporting learning resources available for re-use and adaptation under a creative commons There are three modules:
Introduction to bibliometrics
Tracking your research impact
Journal ranking and analysis
What is Citation Analysis
Citation analysis is a way of measuring the relative importance or impact of an author, an article or a publication by counting the number of times that author, article, or publication has been cited by other works.
Why is Citation Analysis important?
Researchers often ask:
What are the best journals in my field?
How do I check who is citing my articles?
How many times have I been cited?"
How do I know this article is important?"
How can I compare the research impact between journals so I know which journal should I publish in?
Citation analysis will provide the answers to the above questions.
Searches articles, theses, books from academic publishers, societies, online repositories and other web sites. All data from Google needs to be verified for accuracy as the figures are usually artificially inflated.
Free software which tracks your research impact using Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search.
Though limited in their scope, other databases also show citations of articles which may supplement your Web of Science, Google Scholar, and Scopus searches.
The results of citation analyses in various databases will vary depending on the tool(s) you use and the thoroughness of the search.
Why do different different results?
The citation data will relate only to articles indexed within the database. Variation may occur because the databases:
Index different publications.
Cover different date ranges.
Include poor-quality data (duplicate records, misspelt citations e.
Can citation data be used to compare or benchmark articles?
It is important to ensure citation data is being used to compare like with like.
Different disciplines have markedly different citing and patterns.
Document age influences the number of citations it has, or is likely to receive.
When making comparisons, ensure the data has been or adjusted to take into account differences between the disciplines.
Web of Science Tutorials
The h-index is based on the number and impact of a researcher’s publications. h-index of 20 means that, out of all papers published by an author, 20 of them have been cited at least 20 times.
Three resources—ISI Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar—include the necessary citation data for h-index in their respective databases. The h-index of an author will be different in each of these databases, since they only calculate using their own journal content.
The h-index was proposed in 2005 by Jorge E. Hirsch to quantify the research achievement of physicists based on their publication record. In the diagram below a researcher with an index of h, out of all his publications, h publications have at least h citations each.
Using Web of Science to find your citations and H-index
Web of Science
Citation Analysis for a Known Author
Using the Search function, type the name of a known author. For an author that published under different initials, make sure you include all the initials to retrieve all the published papers the Web of Science. E.g. For the author Smith JA, search for smith j* OR smith a*.
On the results page, on the right hand side above the results, click on Create Citation Report to see the citation analysis the author.
The Citation Report gives the numbers for published items in each year, citations in each year, total citations, average citations per item, and the h-index.
Also, remember that if you have books or papers in non-Web of Science indexed journals or in older indexed journals before they were included in the Web of Science, you need to add them manually to your h-index calculation.
Publish or Perish is a free software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations using data from Google Scholar.
total number of papers
total number of citations
average number of citations per paper/book
average number of citations per author
What is a Researcher Profile?
Your researcher profile is an individual Internet profile that provides a user and efficient way of showcasing your work.
Having a unique profile:
Showcases your work to the world
Manages your publications list
Helps to be identified by potential collaborators
Helps to avoid
Enables your research output to be attributed to
Tracks citation counts
Enhances your UC researcher profile page by including a link to other profiles
Why create Researcher Profile?
Unique author identifiers are useful for the following reasons:
Researchers want to find potential collaborators, and want an easier way to get credit for their scholarly activities
Institutions want to collect, showcase and evaluate the scholarly activities of their faculty
Publishers want to simplify the publishing workflow, including peer review
Funding organizations want to simplify the grant submission workflow and want to track what happened to the research they funded
Scholarly societies want an easier way to track the achievements of their members
How does a Researcher Profile help you
In an increasingly competitive research and scholarship environment, how do you distinguish yourself from someone? If your institutional affiliation and/or contact information changes, how is the link between you and your scholarly work maintained? The solution is creating a researcher profile.
A profile pulls all your research and publications together in one place, mitigating common problems that often arise in searching. Such problems can include variations in authors' names or difficulty in narrowing a search down easily when an author has a common name.
If a researcher has worked with multiple granting agencies, research groups, or institutions, a research profile will also make their research easier to find.
How to create Researchers Profiles and Submission Process
How to Create Researcher ID's
Dspace Registration and Submission Guidelines Work Instructions- to JGU Research Publications
An open, non-profit, community-based effort to create and maintain a registry of unique researcher identifiers. The ORCID Registry is available free of charge to individuals, who may obtain an ORCID, manage their record of activities, and search for others in the Registry. Researchers can import their existing publications indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar, and others, to their ORCID ID via the "Import Research Activities" link in their ORCID record.
Create and manage a professional profile, build an online publication list, measure performance with cited counts and h-index. Your profile can incorporate data and metrics from Web of Knowledge and from other sources.
Alternative to traditional bibliometrics such as citation counts and impact factors, altmetrics measures the impact of articles by counting mentions by social media sites and other web sources. It is a comprehensive set of impact indicators that enable numerous ways to assess and navigate research most relevant to the field itself, including:
social bookmarking and dissemination activity
media and blog coverage
discussion activity and ratings
Altmetrics (alternative metrics), as they have become known, consider a wide range of activity such as Tweets, Facebook mentions, shares on academic networking sites such as Mendeley and CiteULike, and article views and downloads.
Many databases (Scopus), online journals (PLoS, Wiley etc), open access archives (such as ArXiv) and Institutional Research Repositories now contain this type of article level metrics. An Altmetric Bookmarklet (once installed) is available to capture this data in Google Scholar.
Alternative metrics measure the impact of articles and outside of the means of traditional publishing, including such venues as:
number of "talkbacks" or amount of discussion an article has received in blogs and on Twitter
mentions on social networking sites such as Facebook and bookmarking sites such as Delicious
discussion on scholarly networking sites and repositories such Mendeley and Dryad
Offers free wikis for the higher education sector.
Web of Science
1. Go to Web of Science
2. Search for O P Jindal Global University in the Address field: Jind Global University
3. Choose Results
4. Choose the following options and click :
- Rank the records by this field: Authors
- Set display option: Top 500-600
- Sort by: Record count
5. Select each author in the Faculty
6. Select View Records
7. On the results , choose Create Citation Report to generate the graphs and metrics for the Faculty
1. Go to Scopus
2. Click on the Affiliation search tab
3. Search for O P Jindal Global University
4. Select all the O P Jindal Global University affiliations
5. Click Show documents
6. Click the box for All to select all results
7. Click View citation overview
8. Enter your email address and the Date Range and a CSV file download will be sent to you
Tracks social media sites, newspapers, and magazines. based on three main factors: the number of individual mentioning a paper, where the mentions occurred (e.g. , a tweet), and how often the author of each mention about scholarly articles. been adopted by Springer, Nature Publishing Group, Scopus, and BioMed Central, among others. afree that can be added to the bookmarks toolbar and used to get on articles with Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) or identifiers in open access databases such as PubMed Central or only work on Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Allows researchers to publish all of their data in a searchable and sharable manner. All data online under the most liberal Creative Commons waiving copyright where possible. This allows scientists to access and share the information from anywhere in the world with minimal friction
an open-source tool. Total Impact) draws from a variety of social and scholarly data sources, including Facebook, Twitter, CiteULike, Delicious, PubMed, Scopus, CrossRef Mendeley, Wikipedia Dryad, and Use Firefox to create your free account. Offers free widget that can be embedded into repositories.
Kudos is a free service through which you can broaden readership and increase the impact of your research. Kudos also provides a unique one-stop shop for multiple metrics relating to your publications: page views, citations, full text downloads and When you explain, enrich and share your work through Kudos, it maps your actions against these metrics in charts that show you which activities are most effective when it comes to increasing the reach and impact of your work.
Click "+Add works" under the Works section of your profile.
Review the search results or enter information manually to add papers to your profile.
ResearcherID (Web of Science)
By using the MyResearcherID feature in Web of Science (Web of Knowledge), researchers an individual ID number that stays with them, regardless institutional affiliation, thus allowing their research to be more easily tracked.
Once your MyResearcherID is created, your publications listed in the Web of Science database are added to your profile - thus ensuring accuracy in tracking your publication history and making it faster to track how your work is cited.
Publications can be added to ResearcherID from Web of Knowledge by selecting the “I Wrote These Publications” button.
How to export Web of Science publications into ORCID?
or register for ResearcherID
Click on ResearcherID
Select the appropriate action: To associate your ORCID with your ResearcherID account
Click for the data exchange between the two systems. This will return you to ResearcherID
Decide “What data would you like to exchange between and ORCID?” e.g. Profile ID, Send ResearcherID publications into my ORCID account, or Retrieve ORCID publications into my ResearcherID account
Select: Send ResearcherID publications to my ORCID account.
Click Send. This will send 100 publications at a time. Grants & patents are not at the moment accepted by ORCID.)
Note: ORCID does not track citations. Times Cited will not display in ORCID.
Google Scholar Citation Profile
Creating your Google Scholar Citation profile will make sure that Google Scholar will easily and accurately group all the citations of your publications into one pool. A profile generally lists your name, chosen keywords of research interest, generated citation metrics, and citations (including links to citing articles).
In order to create a Google Scholar Citation profile, you need a Google Account. Once the profile is set up, it will automatically update.
1. Sign your Google account, or create one if you don't have one. 2. After you sign in, the form will ask you to confirm the spelling of your name, to enter your affiliation, etc. 3. On the next page, you will see a list of articles. Add the articles that are yours. 4. Once you're done with adding articles, it will ask you what to do when the article data changes in Google Scholar. You can either have the updates applied to your profile automatically or you can choose to review them beforehand. Finally, you will see your are satisfied with the results, make your profile public.
How to import Google Scholar publications into ORCID
ORCID has created a tool that allows you to import citations from BibTeX (bib) files into your ORCID record, including files exported from Google Scholar and other popular citation management tools.